Back to All Events

The Snow Queen


snow queen - A4 poster (1).png

THE SNOW QUEEN COMES TO GLOUCESTER BLACKFRIARS

Intrepid explorers needed to join a magical quest…

This Christmas, Blackfriars Priory will be transformed into a magical winter wonderland, with an immersive theatre show for all the family.

Join brave Gerda on a daring mission to rescue her dearest friend Kay who has been stolen by the Snow Queen. Families will cross frozen lands meeting reindeer, princesses and princes, magical creatures, robbers and thieves, on their way to the Snow Queen’s icy kingdom.

Produced by Strike a Light and presented by Gloucester Guildhall, the heroic show, and walkabout adventure takes place as a promenade theatre piece, physically taking its audience on an adventure around the historic Blackfriars site to help Gerda find Kay.

The Snow Queen is suitable for all the family with story-telling, puppetry, live music and plenty of live action to keep you warm with festive cheer.

Gloucester Blackfriars is a fantastic example of a 13th century Dominican Priory, nestled in the heart of Gloucester City Centre. With a fully enclosed cloister garden, original scissor braced beams and fascinating architecture, the venue is sure to immerse you with the magical feeling of Christmas.

The adventure begins on Thursday 6th December and runs until Sat 22nd December with shows throughout the day.

Tickets £12 / £8 Concs
BUY TICKETS

DATES
Thursday 6th Dec
11am 1:30pm 7pm

Friday 7th Dec
11am 1:30pm 7pm

Saturday 8th Dec
11am 2pm 6pm

Sunday 9th Dec
11am 2pm 6pm

Wednesday 12th Dec
11am 1.30pm

Thursday 13th Dec
11am 1.30pm 7pm

Friday 14th Dec
11am 1.30pm 7pm

Saturday 15th Dec
11am 2pm 6pm

Monday 17th Dec
10am 11.30am 1.30pm 7pm

Tuesday 18th Dec
10am 11.30am 1.30pm 7pm

Wednesday 19th Dec
10am 11.30am 1.30pm 7pm

Thursday 20th Dec
10am 11.30am 1.30pm 7pm

Friday 21st Dec
11am 2pm 6pm

Saturday 22nd Dec
11am 2pm 6pm

INFO

Blackfriars Priory
Via Sacra
Ladybellegate Street
Gloucester
GL1 2HN

Show length - 1 hour
Suitable for ages 5 - 11
We will have a Cafe onsite for each show selling snacks & drinks (and sweets, for the ones on the nice list)

 

 

 

Earlier Event: December 4
David Ochiltree Art Classes Exhibition
Later Event: December 7
Wildlife (15)